Oh, if it were always easy….

There are just times in knit design that one has to wonder- WHY do I do this?  Often, the creative process is relatively easy.  There’s a yarn I love, and there is a pattern.  I cast on and get started- voila!  I smile as the piece just comes together.

Then, there are times like today.  I found a stitch I want to do for an adult lap throw.  It’s gorgeous.  Then I check my yarn.  Perfect yarn, but I don’t have enough. Maybe 2 colors… no, not for this pattern.  For some yarns, I have enough but in the wrong gauge. Then I find a different yarn.  I have enough in the right gauge, but I’m not passionate about it.  Therein lies the problem.  The last thing I want to do is start a project with a yarn that I am not crazy about.  As I work on it, if I can’t get “into” a piece, the piece is no fun to work on, and it ends up being a chore and I won’t be happy with the finished piece.

Why not go out and buy some yarn?  I have so much yarn in stock, I am trying not to buy yarn (Except for the upcoming Stitches Expo on Feb 20).  So, I have to find something I have in stock.

I will get things set up on the machine tonite, but will figure out a yarn tomorrow, tonite, feeling like there isn’t a good answer, and I know there has to be.

If only is were always easy… it wouldn’t be any fun.  The challenge is a lot of the fun.

Leave a comment